Referral Program ‑ Shopjar logoCustomer referral software

ViralPayouts vs Referral Program ‑ Shopjar

ViralPayouts has no monthly fee, pays your affiliates for you and pays recruiters on every program. You pay 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3%, and nothing in a month when nobody sells. With Referral Program ‑ Shopjar, paying affiliates for you is optional or extra and has no two-tier recruiting. It costs $0 to $29 a month.

Every figure for Referral Program ‑ Shopjar comes from its own pages or named review sites, checked 12 October 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom.

Why brands pick ViralPayouts over Referral Program ‑ Shopjar

Best fit: A brand wanting partners recruiting partners and payouts handled end to end, including outside Shopify.

  • $0 a month

    No plan and no setup fee. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.

  • Payouts done for you

    One invoice per program. ViralPayouts sends every partner and recruiter their money and collects tax forms.

  • Recruiters built in

    Customer links and recruit links on every program, with the override set your way and reversed on refunds.

Start a program free

Side by side

Referral Program ‑ ShopjarViralPayouts
Price$0 to $29 a month$0 a month. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.
Setup feeNot statedNone
Fee for paying affiliatesNot statedIncluded in the fee above: no charge to the brand for sending payoutsPartners pay Whop's own fee when they withdraw to their bank
Pays your affiliates for youOptionalvia Merchant's own PayPal Business / Wise / Tremendous accounts connected to the appYes You fund by bank transfer; we pay every partner
Two-tier recruitingNoYes Two levels on every program: share of commission, share of sale or fixed. Paid on approved sales, never sign-ups
Public program directoryNoYes Partners browse and join with one account
TrackingAffiliate links; Affiliate coupon codesFirst-party links with click IDs, signed server-to-server events, Stripe Checkout webhook
Coupon trackingYesYes A code per partner, per program
Mobile app trackingNot statedApp installs, sign-ups and purchases reported from your server through the signed event API, with bounties on them. No SDK to ship in your app.
API, webhooks, MCPNot statedREST API for brands and partners with an OpenAPI spec, an MCP server for AI agents, a signed event API and partner postbacks
IntegrationsKlaviyo, PayPal, Wise, Tremendous, Shopify Flow, Checkout, Customer accountsStripe Checkout, Shopify orders, any backend via the event API
Referral Program ‑ Shopjar plans in full
  • Free: $0 a month. Referral program, unlimited members/orders/rewards, links and coupon codes (listed on Shopify App Store)
  • Essential: $7 a month. Landing pages, post-purchase popups, self-referral protection, reports
  • Starter: $12 a month. Adds affiliate program, links and codes, member portal; discount/store-credit/offline payouts
  • Growth: $29 a month. Cash payouts via PayPal (incl. scheduled mass payouts), Wise, Tremendous (ACH, Venmo, 700+ rewards); Klaviyo; advanced fraud protection
Pricing source

Where ViralPayouts comes out ahead of Referral Program ‑ Shopjar

What Referral Program ‑ Shopjar offers

Small Shopify stores wanting a cheap refer-a-friend program plus an affiliate program for influencers, with discount, store-credit or (on Growth) cash payouts.

Customer referral software

Why ViralPayouts is the better choice

  • Two-level recruiter override; Shopjar has no multi-level
  • ViralPayouts pays partners itself; Shopjar triggers payouts from the merchant's own PayPal/Wise/Tremendous balance
  • Public directory where partners discover programs
  • Not limited to Shopify: Stripe and event API, plus REST API and MCP server

What Referral Program ‑ Shopjar users say

Paraphrased from public reviews. Follow each link to read the original.

Praise

  • Promising feature set for a referral program, with helpful Zoom support (medspartner, Oct 2026). apps.shopify.com
  • First-time user got a clear setup walkthrough from support (Uniiqo Studio, Sep 2026). apps.shopify.com
  • Very helpful support staff (USA Mystery Box, Sep 2026). apps.shopify.com

Complaints

  • Klaviyo integration unreliable, with Shopjar and Klaviyo blaming each other (STRAYE). apps.shopify.com
  • Poor for headless/custom stores; manual affiliates get no emails or automations; very manual (Red Dirt and Road Sodas). apps.shopify.com
  • Competitor review: serious payouts and integrations only on the $29 plan; Shopify only. wiserreview.com

About Referral Program ‑ Shopjar

In their words:
"Turn Your Customers Into Your Best Sales Channel" — homepage H1
Company:
Singapore developer address; Shopify listing says "Based in United States" · Shopjar
Named customers:
The Aporias, QCOLLECTION, Winewizard by Vinalchemy
Website:
shopjar.co

Try ViralPayouts on test money

Set your commission and recruiter override, see what each sale costs you, and run it on the test network before a real partner joins. No monthly fee.

Sources for Referral Program ‑ Shopjar (7), checked 12 October 2026

Referral Program ‑ Shopjar is a trademark of its owner. ViralPayouts is not affiliated with Referral Program ‑ Shopjar. Prices and features change: check shopjar.co before you decide. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.