LoyaltyLion (Referrals) logoCustomer referral software

ViralPayouts vs LoyaltyLion (Referrals)

ViralPayouts has no monthly fee, pays your affiliates for you and pays recruiters on every program. You pay 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3%, and nothing in a month when nobody sells. With LoyaltyLion (Referrals), you pay your affiliates yourself and has no two-tier recruiting. It costs $0 to $199 a month.

Every figure for LoyaltyLion (Referrals) comes from its own pages or named review sites, checked 12 October 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom.

Why brands pick ViralPayouts over LoyaltyLion (Referrals)

Best fit: A brand that wants outside affiliates and creators paid cash commissions, with recruiter overrides, without a fixed subscription.

  • $0 a month

    No plan and no setup fee. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.

  • Payouts done for you

    One invoice per program. ViralPayouts sends every partner and recruiter their money and collects tax forms.

  • Recruiters built in

    Customer links and recruit links on every program, with the override set your way and reversed on refunds.

Start a program free

Side by side

LoyaltyLion (Referrals)ViralPayouts
Price$0 to $199 a monthTerm: Not stated on pricing page; a Shopify reviewer says they 'force you into a contract'$0 a month. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.
Setup feeNot statedNone
Fee for paying affiliatesNot statedIncluded in the fee above: no charge to the brand for sending payoutsPartners pay Whop's own fee when they withdraw to their bank
Pays your affiliates for youNoYes You fund by bank transfer; we pay every partner
Two-tier recruitingNoYes Two levels on every program: share of commission, share of sale or fixed. Paid on approved sales, never sign-ups
Public program directoryNoYes Partners browse and join with one account
TrackingShareable referral URL/code via email, social, SMS, WhatsApp; Welcome popup with discount code for referred friendFirst-party links with click IDs, signed server-to-server events, Stripe Checkout webhook
Coupon trackingPartlyYes A code per partner, per program
Mobile app trackingPartlyApp installs, sign-ups and purchases reported from your server through the signed event API, with bounties on them. No SDK to ship in your app.
API, webhooks, MCPAPIREST API for brands and partners with an OpenAPI spec, an MCP server for AI agents, a signed event API and partner postbacks
IntegrationsShopify, Shopify Plus, Shopify POS, Shopify Flow, KlaviyoStripe Checkout, Shopify orders, any backend via the event API
LoyaltyLion (Referrals) plans in full
  • Free (Shopify App Store): $0 a month. 400 monthly orders, on-site points, discount rewards, analytics
  • Classic: $199 a month. Includes 500 orders per month; price rises with order volume selector
  • Advanced: price not published. Custom quote; adds VIP tiers, POS, 130+ languages
  • Plus: price not published. Custom quote; adds AI rewards, advanced Klaviyo events, automated flows
Pricing source

Where ViralPayouts comes out ahead of LoyaltyLion (Referrals)

What LoyaltyLion (Referrals) offers

Shopify / Shopify Plus DTC ecommerce brands (beauty, fashion, food, pet, wellness etc.) running a points-and-rewards loyalty program, with refer-a-friend as one module.

Customer referral software

Why ViralPayouts is the better choice

  • Pays real cash commissions to partners and handles payouts via Whop; LoyaltyLion only gives points/discounts
  • Two-level partner + recruiter overrides
  • Public directory where partners can find and join programs
  • No monthly fee or contract; fee is a share of payouts (10% falling to 3%)

What LoyaltyLion (Referrals) users say

Paraphrased from public reviews. Follow each link to read the original.

Praise

  • Shopify's review summary says merchants credit it with higher retention, repeat purchases and LTV, find it flexible, and praise integrations and proactive account management. apps.shopify.com

Complaints

  • Reviewer (Sept 2026) calls it overpriced, says it forces a contract and keeps charging even after the business shut down. apps.shopify.com
  • Reviewer (Apr 2026) says functionality is fine but support took days or weeks to resolve issues; plans to leave when the contract ends. apps.shopify.com
  • Free-plan reviewer (Nov 2025) says the SDK's custom font slowed their site and the disable option only works on paid plans (LoyaltyLion disputes this). apps.shopify.com

About LoyaltyLion (Referrals)

In their words:
Referral loyalty programs that turn customers into advocates
Company:
Founded 2013 (launched 'the first modern loyalty platform for Shopify') · Shopify App Store listing says 'Based in United States'
Funding:
About page says it 'secured funding from industry leaders' in 2013; amounts not stated
Team:
100+ (as of 2022, per About page)
Named customers:
nuud (referral testimonial), TheChive, The Hummingbird Bakery

Try ViralPayouts on test money

Set your commission and recruiter override, see what each sale costs you, and run it on the test network before a real partner joins. No monthly fee.

Sources for LoyaltyLion (Referrals) (6), checked 12 October 2026

LoyaltyLion (Referrals) is a trademark of its owner. ViralPayouts is not affiliated with LoyaltyLion (Referrals). Prices and features change: check loyaltylion.com before you decide. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.