Gumroad logoCreator and checkout platform

ViralPayouts vs Gumroad

ViralPayouts has no monthly fee, pays your affiliates for you and pays recruiters on every program. You pay 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3%, and nothing in a month when nobody sells. Gumroad also pays affiliates for you and does not say it has two-tier recruiting. It costs $0 a month + 10% to 30% of transactions.

Every figure for Gumroad comes from its own pages or named review sites, checked 12 October 2026. Sources are listed at the bottom.

Why brands pick ViralPayouts over Gumroad

Best fit: Brands with their own product and checkout that want partners plus recruiters (two levels) and to have partners paid for them, with a fee tied only to partner payouts.

  • $0 a month

    No plan and no setup fee. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.

  • Payouts done for you

    One invoice per program. ViralPayouts sends every partner and recruiter their money and collects tax forms.

  • Recruiters built in

    Customer links and recruit links on every program, with the override set your way and reversed on refunds.

Start a program free

Side by side

GumroadViralPayouts
Price$0 a month + 10% to 30% of transactions$0 a month. 10% of what you pay partners, falling to 3% at $10,000 a month.
Setup feeNot statedNone
Fee for paying affiliatesNo separate affiliate fee. 'Fees on affiliate purchases are split between the affiliate and the creator proportional to the affiliate's commission' (a 30% affiliate bears 30% of the fees).Included in the fee above: no charge to the brand for sending payoutsPartners pay Whop's own fee when they withdraw to their bank
Pays your affiliates for youYesvia Gumroad (merchant of record); affiliate commission deducted from creator's payoutYes You fund by bank transfer; we pay every partner
Two-tier recruitingNot stated1 levelsYes Two levels on every program: share of commission, share of sale or fixed. Paid on approved sales, never sign-ups
Public program directoryYesYes Partners browse and join with one account
Trackinggumroad.com/a/<id> cookie links; 'sticky' links with ?affiliate_id= (no cookie needed); destination URL per affiliate; affiliate link + offer codeFirst-party links with click IDs, signed server-to-server events, Stripe Checkout webhook
Coupon trackingPartlyYes A code per partner, per program
Mobile app trackingNot statedApp installs, sign-ups and purchases reported from your server through the signed event API, with bounties on them. No SDK to ship in your app.
API, webhooks, MCPAPI, MCP serverREST API for brands and partners with an OpenAPI spec, an MCP server for AI agents, a signed event API and partner postbacks
IntegrationsEmbeds/overlay widgets, Custom domains, Claude/Muse MCP connectorsStripe Checkout, Shopify orders, any backend via the event API
Gumroad plans in full
  • Direct sales (profile / direct links): $0 a month, plus 10% of transactions. 10% + $0.50 per transaction (+ sales tax); help center says this excludes card processing (2.9% + $0.30) and PayPal fees. Drops to 5% + $0.50 for new direct sales once paid sales pass $20,000 in a calendar month.
  • Discover marketplace sales: $0 a month, plus 30% of transactions. Flat 30% per transaction when new customers find and buy via Discover, including processing.
Pricing source

Where ViralPayouts comes out ahead of Gumroad

What Gumroad offers

Independent creators selling digital products (ebooks, courses, templates, software, memberships) who want a simple storefront, merchant-of-record tax handling and optional affiliates.

Creator and checkout platform · G2 4.2 (16 reviews) · Trustpilot 1.4 (417 reviews)

Why ViralPayouts is the better choice

  • Two levels built in (partner + recruiter override with separate recruit link); Gumroad is single-level.
  • Works for brands' own checkout via signed server-to-server API and Stripe Checkout webhook instead of requiring Gumroad checkout and its 10%+ fees.
  • Click-id redirect links not dependent on browser cookies; append-only ledger and test network.
  • Partners aren't charged a share of platform fees from their commission.

What Gumroad users say

Paraphrased from public reviews. Follow each link to read the original.

Praise

  • Creators value that Gumroad 'handles payments, affiliates, discounts, etc' so they can focus on content (Steph Smith testimonial). gumroad.com
  • Trustpilot reviewer (Jun 2026) got a first payout after two weeks and found email support very fast. trustpilot.com

Complaints

  • A payout marked 'paid' never reached the creator's bank and support kept repeating the same trace ID (Trustpilot, Sep 2026). trustpilot.com
  • 10% + $0.50 is charged on top of Stripe processing, making the real rate about 12.5% (Trustpilot, Jul 2026). trustpilot.com
  • Sudden $100 payout limit imposed on a creator (Trustpilot, Sep 2026). trustpilot.com
  • Affiliate tracking is cookie-based; if the buyer's browser blocks cookies or they click another affiliate later, the affiliate is not credited (Gumroad's own help). gumroad.com

About Gumroad

In their words:
"Go from 0 to $1" (About page H1); pricing title: "Gumroad pricing: 10% + 50¢ direct, 30% via Discover"
Company:
Founded 2011 · San Francisco, California, US · Founded by Sahil Lavingia (Wikipedia also lists Sachin Khanna); About page links to 'Contribute or fork on GitHub' (code published under the antiwork GitHub org)
Funding:
$1.1M seed (Feb 2012) and $7M Series A led by Kleiner Perkins (2012), per Wikipedia
Named customers:
Steph Smith (informational courses; quoted praising Gumroad handling affiliates), Daniel Vassallo, Trends.VC, Max Ulichney (MaxPacks Procreate brushes)
Website:
gumroad.com

Try ViralPayouts on test money

Set your commission and recruiter override, see what each sale costs you, and run it on the test network before a real partner joins. No monthly fee.